Snapchat is rolling out a new feature called Friend Check Up. On Snapchat, having someone on your friend list could mean that you could give them access to your story and even possibly your location, depending on your Snap Map settings. So Snapchat has taken an extra step, and wants to make sure that everyone on your friends list is still someone you actually want to call your friend.
Snap says that the feature will be rolling out globally on Android “in the coming weeks” and to iOS devices “in the coming months.” The reminder will show up as a notification on the profile screen.
The Friend Check Up feature is part of a push from Snap to make Snapchat a friendlier place. The social network is also getting further integration with the Crisis Text Project for people seeking mental health assistance.
Do you have a story that you think would interest our readers? write to us email@example.com