Rwanda Embraces The East African Community e-Passports

Rwanda Replaces Single Nation Passports with EAC E-Passports

A man is lifted by police during a protest in Bujumbura on May 13, 2015. A top Burundian general announced today the overthrow of President Pierre Nkurunziza, following weeks of violent protests against the president's bid to stand for a third term. (Landry Nshimiye/Getty Images)

Rwanda immigration department recently announced that it will phase out all single-nation passports issued before June 2021 for the East African Community (EAC) electronic passports.

Holders of the Rwandan passport have a two-year grace period to replace their passports starting in June 2019 and will be officially replaced in June  2021 noted the Director-General.

“The issuance of the East Africa e-passport is in line with East Africa Community (EAC) commitment to promoting regional integration,” said the immigration department, adding that applicants should utilize Rwanda’s government online portal to apply for the e-passports.

EAC members passed the resolution to issue the East African e-passports during the 17th ordinary summit that was held in March 2016.

EAC partner states including Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania have already rolled out the e-passports that grant holders access to more countries devoid of the stringent visa requirements. Rwanda has now followed suit.


Do you have a story that you think would interest our readers?
Write to us


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.