President Kenyatta makes new appointments for the ICT ministry

President Kenyatta reshuffles his cabinet, appoints new members into the ministry of ICT

Nadia Ahmed Abdallah, incoming Chief Administrative Secretary, ministry of ICT, Innovation and Youth Affairs

Owing digital innovation plans geared to take route in the country, the president of the republic of Kenya has reshuffled his cabinet, particularly the ministry of Information and Communication Technology (ICT).

In a bid to stir up operations in the cross-cutting ministry of ICT, the president has on boarded Mrs. Esther J. Koimett CBS, the permanent secretary for the ministry of ICT at the department of Broadcasting and Telecommunications, retaining Jerome Ochieng as the PS for ICT, Innovation and Youth Affairs.

He also appointed Maureen Magoma Mbaka and Nadia Ahmed Abdallah as the chief administrative secretaries (CASs) at the same ministry of ICT, department of ICT, Innovation and Youth Affairs.

Announced during his State of the Nation address in Mombasa on Tuesday 14th January 2020, the president retained both the CS and PS for the ministry of ICT, Joe Mucheru and Jerome Ochieng respectively.

President Kenyatta noted that the reshuffle was in good will and to spur economic growth of the country.

“I want the economy to be a more important focus than politics because our practice throughout history has been to pursue the political kingdom as opposed to the economic kingdom,” the president said.

Also affected by the early morning reshuffle include the cabinet ministers for health and industralisation and the permanent secretaries for trade, vocational and technical training, university education and research, physical planning and transport.

Do you have a story that you think would interest our readers?
Write to us


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.