IEBC launches SMS Service for voters to check registration status

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has launched a short message service (SMS) for voters to check their registration status.

Through their Facebook Page and official twitter handle IEBC urged voters to send their national identity card number to 70000 code. Once you send the text, one receives a text message from IEBC that shows the name of the voter, county, polling station code and ward.

IEBC says that the voter register will be available on its website and via SMS from June 29 to Election Day. As at June 27th IEBC announced that there were 9,611,423 Kenyans eligible to vote in this year’s General Election.This number includes 4,393 diaspora in 5 countries and 5,528 registered in 118 prisons across the country.

According to The Daily Nation IEBC has mapped out 40,883 polling stations that are capped to serve not more than 700 voters each.

Nairobi County topped the list with 2.2 million voters who will be eligible to vote, followed by Kiambu (1.18 million), Nakuru (949,618), Kakamega (743,736), Meru (702, 480), Machakos (620, 254), Murang’a (587,126), Mombasa (580,223), Bungoma (559,850), Kisii (546,580), Kisumu (539,210), and Kilifi (508,068), in that order in the top 12.

In all, the former Rift Valley Province, comprising of 14 counties, has a total of 4,649,768, the single biggest unit with the most votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here