Facebook location sharing feature brings controversy in Kenya

0
980

“To use the application, your GPS must always be on, you can be followed by hackers, intruders or government agencies. Your Facebook account could also be targeted by the same stalkers,” said technology expert Jacob Sihulo.

When you enable the feature, you can choose who will be able to see when you’re nearby (either all your friends, close friends, or just a specific friend list). If you realize it’s is a little too creepy after all, you can turn it off at any time.

“Location sharing with Nearby Friends is a two-way street, meaning someone will only see that you’re nearby if you share this information with them, and vice versa,” Vaccari said. “You and your friends both have to turn on Nearby Friends and choose to share with each other to see when you’re nearby,” she explained.

Though, users of the app could be oblivious to the risks, even as cases of social media abuse increase in the country hence it would be critical for one to choose wisely for themselves what would ascertain their safety.

According to the Daily Nation, Communications Authority of Kenya (CA) statistics state that last year alone, 5.4 million cyber-attacks were recorded in Kenya.

“The Internet has become a common place for cyber-attacks and users need to constantly protect themselves by protecting their personal information and whereabouts,” said CA Director-general Francis Wangusi.

The majority bordered around identity theft, cyber stalking and child pornography.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

*

code